A Dialogue Between My Left and Right Brain

It all started when I decided to hang out with my friends at a coffee shop. Well, let me tell you from the beginning!

Four of my friends decided to spend time over some coffee and cookies. So, we all met at this coffee shop which my friend is obsessed with. She swears this is one brand that never disappoints. We never argue with her for she has travelled more than half the world😛…And at her age, it is pretty impressive

I thanked my stars as soon as we found a place to sit down for the next few hours.I am a big fan of cappuccino and cinnamon cookies and so like always I decided to go for them. Rest of my friends ordered their regulars.

A sip of good cappuccino can transport you to your own world. And that’s exactly what happened until I was brought back to reality with a harsh blow on my back. My friends decided to leave the topic that they were discussing and started focussing their energy on me and my blog instead.

One of my friends even said that I am sending wrong vibes to people around. I quite didn’t understand her at first, but anyways she went about explaining. She said only people who are alone and unhappy go about becoming spiritual.

First I thought to myself that I wasn’t alone, second, quite happy in life and the third and the most important, fully aware of the fact that I can’t bet my life on things which is constantly changing. But nevertheless remained calm and let them do the talking. I understood where they were coming from.

The whole thing about being spiritual scares the hell out of many. My grandparents fear I might just turn a Sanyasi or something. They ask me to focus on being a good wife, a mother, a daughter and blah blah blah. Though I think all the above is important but that is not what life is all about. Its about self-analysis and to make it a journey that is worth.

Anyways, soon all my friends joined the bandwagon and I was in for a gyan session. While I shut my head to that, my mind started having its little conversation inside. And that’s where my Dear Readers, I stopped being Sumi, the Actor and started being that Witnesser.

Captured 😛 Witnessing the Conversation of LB&RB
Captured -Witnessing the Conversation 😉

Here is the dialogue between my left-brain(LB) and right-brain(RB).

LB: How stupid are they to think spirituality is for miserable people?

RB: I feel uneasy here too but poor people they know nothing about spirituality. So excuse them.

LB: The knowledge that nothing is here forever and everything is constantly changing should suffice for anybody to turn spiritual.

RB: I feel happy at your observation but this has been the case from ages. Remember the conversation Sumi read between Yudhisthira and Yaksha. Forgot! You wouldn’t have forgotten it. You tried to make sense out of that by reading it many times.

LB: You are right. I remember that. What about it?

RB: Though my understanding would differ from yours yet I was excited when Sumi was reading the answer given by Yudhisthira to Yaksha on what surprises him the most?

LB: Oh yes..the answer was that People die every day and yet they love to believe that death will never come to them or their beloved ones and plan their lives like immortals 😉
Hmm…I understand what you are hinting at. But still..

RB: C’mon you understand all this yet you don’t get it right all the time. You make mistakes too.

LB: Oh Okay, now it is on me. I am trying. You can’t blame me. I try to remind Sumi of the choices she could make when emotions clog her. But she sets me on the autopilot mode ignoring them sometimes. And those times are when she goes back repeating the same mistakes she did earlier. You can’t blame me for that 😦

RB: I understand. I am just telling not to waste our energy judging her friends but look for creative ideas to better ourselves. We can work together to turn the planned behaviours to habitual ones through repetitions.
Hey, don’t worry we are great as a team. We will get there soon 🙂

And there comes another blow and this time it was tighter than the old one 13131944-Illustration-of-a-Shocked-Smiley-Stock-Illustration-emoticon.jpgThat threw my LB and RB into the outer space. When they returned from their space journey, I reached for my coffee which turned cold. I turned to my friends and wasn’t surprised to see the worried look on their faces. And that perfect occasion called for another shot of caffeine 😆

Published by

Sumi Nath

I strongly believe in the maxim 'I am what I think'. A Business degree holder taught to pose 'What's In It For Me?', is now seeking to understand the Real Self. My journey is what you will read here.

9 thoughts on “A Dialogue Between My Left and Right Brain”

  1. I loved your post and the humour. Thank god for the Internet and a wider selection of friends. Remember Krishna says while everyone will get there only a select few truly understand the relationship beyond bliss to complete connectivity with God. Stay tranquil and observant my friend. What a wonderful place you are in. Be playful in life!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hearing about someone being spiritual can scare some people. They worry we will try and turn them to ‘our ways’ or we will become obsessed with something unhealthy to ourselves. I always explain it as self -improvement and gaining a greater insight into the world around me. I often add, with a grin “Which self-respecting person wouldn’t want to become more self-aware?”. That usually either leads to questions of a more sensible nature or stops the conversation dead *smiles*

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The fact that you managed to have that conversation in a coffee shop with your friends being with you and also aromatic coffee and cinnamon cookies in front of you, is incredible. Your brainwaves were in sync with the universe and allowed you to ponder on so many things. Answers are in Nature, you just have to find it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I recently was told by a person ” Every one is on a individual journey ” in that each one is responsible to his or her Karma .” any ways an interesting point you got here , I guess we all have such conversations in our head between the RB and LB , and I liked the way you put it 🙂 …cool stuff . ..and that capture and the expression – spot on:D

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts? Share It.

