The Mind is Eager But The Senses Are Engaged

Should we detest life?

No, Of course not! But when the mind embraces life with all its imperfections then life is possible. Every mind is in search of that infinite bliss even when the senses are fully absorbed in mundane affairs. The Mind is willing but the sense faculties are engaged elsewhere.

And, the search will continue until it understands that the source of any happiness, however, transient in nature is emanating from its own being.

Our outward search for happiness is as absurd as a firefly searching its own light outside.

Our older generations understood this truth very well. I would like to share a traditional Malayalam prayer song that we were taught and asked to recite with BHAAVAM(remembering the meaning) every day. If you are interested, I have also included the meaning line-by-line.

Note: Shiva mentioned in the above prayer is to be understood as the ‘Perfect Being’.
Shiva, the One who has attained Perfection, always blissful in his own Self eternally, Flawless, Formless, One without a Second, Complete.

As a human being, I took birth in this world,
But I am now in the middle of the ocean of Samsara which is like hell,
Please help me swim to the banks, away from the hell,
Oh Shiva Oh Shambhu, the Perfect Being.

Whenever I think about dealing with the fear at the time of death,
My mind forgets all that I know,
And So please come and play in my mind( remind me my True state, Sat-Chit-Ananadam),
Oh Shiva Oh Shambhu, the Perfect Being.

Shiva Shiva, I am ignorant and know nothing,
About the nature of Maha Maya(illusion, Holy Mother, Prakruti),
And so please help me overcome Maha Maya,
Oh Shiva Oh Shambhu, the Perfect Being.

I am entrapped in a very big forest(Samsara)
And I am wandering without knowing the way and when I cry for help,
Oh Lord please show me the right path then
Oh Shiva Oh Shambhu, the Perfect Being.

Lord, with your grace, I found an easy path out of the dense forest,
But on that way, in between, at several places, I see Six stairs( 5 Jnana-Indriya(sense of perception)+ Antarendriya(Mind))
And when I climb all the six stairs then,
I see you, the Perfect Being.

Photo Courtesy:mumbaihikers.com

Published by

Sumi Nath

I strongly believe in the maxim 'I am what I think'. A Business degree holder taught to pose 'What's In It For Me?', is now seeking to understand the Real Self. My journey is what you will read here.

Thoughts? Share It.

