Act To Express, Not To Impress

We have an inexhaustible appetite for acceptance and approval and therefore every action of ours is directed towards that goal. We try so hard and yet the goal never seems to arrive.

Anytime I do that, I pity myself. We suffocate ourselves in the process thinking once accepted people will stop judging us. Unfortunately, people will remember what they like to remember, we can influence it but cannot control it. There is no end, we have to keep acting to impress people all the time. Is it even worth it?

Let’s introspect.

  • Why do we expend so much of our energy seeking recognition?
  • What happens when we are recognised?
  • Who is seeking recognition?
  • In the end, who feels better?

Now, in reality, are we trying to impress others or in the process trying to impress our Self? You feel happier when you make an impression. So, ultimately, every action that YOU make is to make YOU happy.

So, stop acting and start expressing. And, let that be a kind expression because what goes around does come around 🙂

Image: Internet

 

 

Published by

Sumi Nath

I strongly believe in the maxim 'I am what I think'. A Business degree holder taught to pose 'What's In It For Me?', is now seeking to understand the Real Self. My journey is what you will read here.

6 thoughts on “Act To Express, Not To Impress”

  1. I was recently having a conversation with my spiritual teacher where I was asking whether fame is good or not..Then he asked me the very same questions as you have mentioned above thus making me realize in the end that all we do is to make ourselves happy and for which we don’t need anyone’s acceptance or approval.For if we are falling in love with the fame that comes by the indelible impression that we try creating then we have become a puppet in others’ hand and in no time we would experience breakdown..
    Very relatable post!:-)

    Liked by 1 person

Thoughts? Share It.

