Do I Always Tell The/My Truth?

We had the privilege of hosting family and friends over the past couple of weeks. And there had been some interesting conversations.  One such went something like this……

When you walk into the house you will hardly miss the book collection. It is strategically placed 😉

“Aah! I see you have a good collection here”
“Thank You”
“Whats with all these spiritual texts? Did not know that you are into all this?!” …….Silence
“Hahaha, I haven’t read them all.” silence again…
“Hmmmm…So, do you practice what you read?”
“Try to”
“Ohh so you never lie? All holy texts urge man to speak the truth, don’t they?”
(Smiled and asked her if I can get her another cup of coffee)
“You didn’t answer my question?”
“I do lie. I try to remain quiet at those times but if I have to then mostly I speak the situation”
“Oh Okay.” “What are your thoughts on the beef ban?”
Another dangerous question 😶

Oh, she was good, very good at asking tough questions 😋

Okay, coming back to the topic of discussion.  I do not think any religion would ask you to always speak your blind truth. Your truth is your understanding of the situation which may not be completely true. Where do we go in search of facts?

What is Truth? Is it “Your Truth” or “The Truth”. We don’t always have to fill the silence.

However, the problem arises when we want to be a part of every conversation. So, we participate in the gossip when we know it isn’t right. It takes enormous strength to stay away and at the same time to be kind and to speak your truth.

But, before we start, we could ask ourselves, if it is even important to speak or to entertain the negativity that drains our energy. I am not hundred percent there yet. I still agree to things to keep the close-knit happy. I restrain from gossiping and carefully choose the people I interact with but I still haven’t learnt the art of being assertive and yet kind.

At times, when people mistake the silence for the disability then that is when you are tested. It is okay to commit mistakes if you know they are blunders to be avoided. After all, we are Human learning to stay humane.

Bhagavad Gita on Speech…

Anudvegakaram vākyam satyam priyahitam ca yat |
svādhyāyābhyasanam caiva vāṅmayam tapa ucyate || BG 17.15 || 

Non-irritating, truthful and pleasing speech, reading of Scriptures and performing spiritual practices.

Published by

Sumi Nath

I strongly believe in the maxim 'I am what I think'. A Business degree holder taught to pose 'What's In It For Me?', is now seeking to understand the Real Self. My journey is what you will read here.

2 thoughts on “Do I Always Tell The/My Truth?”

Thoughts? Share It.

