Discovering Through Reflection

During our conversation last night, my husband said “what if we could remember all our previous births? How would our lives be then?”

Ahh, that thought was interesting. Yeah, so what if everyone could decode those vasanas/impressions stored in their subconscious part of the mind? And as an ordinary being, what if we couldn’t peruse it the right way? Can you anticipate the horror and emotional distress that invariably accompanies those memories?  If we are unable to deal with our past in this life. Imagine having to live with numerous such memories.

Sri-Bhagavan uvaca
Bahuni me vyatitani, janmani tava carjuna
Tany aham veda sarvani, na tvam vettha parantapa
                                                                                Bhagavad Gita:4,5

In the Gita,  Krishna says to Arjuna ‘Many a birth have I passed through, O Arjuna, and so have you. I know them all, but you know them not.

But what if we could remember, would we let go of things?
Maybe not. Upon coming back, we would try hard to regain our worldly possessions gained in our previous births. But, how many would we run after?
or
The guilt-ridden mind would obsess over the past and the higher spiritual planes or growth for that matter would then just remain a dream.

Well, then, we are blessed that we are unable to access those deep-seated memories and are given another chance to start afresh.

Now that I understand that if born again, this very life would be nothing more than a dream. So I ask myself:

Is it still important to make myself heard?

Do I still work under pressure when I know even here stress can’t deliver my best?

Can I simply enjoy the efforts?

Who am I trying to perfect(my Self or Sumi)?

Do I keep trading peace for ignorance?

Questions such as these always help me to keep coming back to my practice. The ultimate purpose of reflections is to keep reminding that we are a part of a whole and to bring us closer to our being.

Image credit: https://www.flickr.com/photos/wolfread/5884714699

Published by

Sumi Nath

I strongly believe in the maxim 'I am what I think'. A Business degree holder taught to pose 'What's In It For Me?', is now seeking to understand the Real Self. My journey is what you will read here.

6 thoughts on “Discovering Through Reflection”

  1. You know,I used to wonder,why are we born with a fresh memory in each birth.I thought that if we could know of our previous birth,we would have no hatred for anyone because we would innately know that what we are getting bad is not because of our destiny but because of sins committed in previous birth.I always thought that we would eventually be more satisfied and at peace.However,now reading your article,I understand that if we actually could remember our previous birth,we would try to regain our worldly pleasures and never reach great spiritual heights.Thank you so much for sharing,learnt a great lesson today.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah,we are too alike in our thinking; after all,having read the Bhagvad Gita,we know the philosophy of life and so we can never let our hope down for a beautiful world.
        By the way,as you say I am heading towards the right direction,I feel extremely elated because this is the line that my spiritual teacher says to me so many times.Thank you so much!:)

        Like

Thoughts? Share It.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.